‘Tis The Season To Be Freezin’

I pull up my suede-trip cashmere Ralph Lauren Home blanket (curtsey of Alicia) , wrapping it around myself tightly. My fingers continue clicking the keyboard as I bundle up in my Burrito-like position.

dividers-1Christmas Morning

I rose out of bed excitedly at four AM. I jumped out of bed energetically, throwing my legs over one side of the bed and my duvet over the other–*insert CD screech here*

Yeah, right. More like…

“Wake up!” Jamie screeched, hitting my head repeatedly with a silk-adorned pillow.

“Do you have to wake me up like that?” I moaned.

“It’s Cuh-ris-muuuuuuuuuuhs!” sing-songed Ryan as she shimmied towards the window, pulling my curtains open, revealing a blanket of snow, covering everything that used to be in sight. Her long & lean body belonged to the equally beautiful view.

“Nooooo,” I squinted as the sun burned through my vampire-y nature.”It’s freezing!” I mumbled.

I suddenly jolted up, remembering the mugs of hot chocolate and plates of chocolate-chipped cookies which would await me downstairs.

dividers-1

Ryan, Jamie and I raced to the living room of our ski lodge,where we would enjoy the rest of our winter break, feeling ridiculously giddy in our matching holiday-themed onesies.

“Ehmagawd,” I whispered to myself as I was wrapped up in a snowstorm with a view of the Swiss Alps, which always looked exceptionally festive on Christmas day.

Prezzies!” Ryan giggle-squealed as she leaped to the pile of gift-wrapped boxes under the ornament-embellished Christmas tree, which we spent the night decorating.

“Slow down, Rudolph.” Jamie sat next to Ryan under the tree, fishing for caviar in the sea of gifts.

I sat cross-legged on the mahogany hardwood floor, nibbling on a cookie the size of my palm. God, I missed you. After a year of crash-dieting and protein shakes, the holidays were a perfect excuse to just… indulge. This is what I wait all year for.

“Morning, ladies,” greeted Mum as she emerged in a Hanro terry robe, with a cup of steaming black coffee in hand, her Santa hat looking strikingly out of place. Her eyes wrinkled ( despite her latest Botox injection ) as they panned over Ryan and Jamie tearing their presents open and paused on me,  a cookie between my hands. Now that all the Marvil ladies were here, the festivities may begin.

dividers-1

As per tradition, the Marvil’s gourmet Christmas dinner stretched across the endless dining table, delivering only the most exquisite of flavors and a year’s worth of calories. It was prepared by Danika, our housekeeper/maid/super-human just before she left to join her family in Poland for Christmas. Thank Gawd Mum didn’t have to cook!

dividers-1Oh well, it’s not a real RDM post if it’s not over a week late, now, is it? Shoutout to my Mum, Merri-Lee Marvil for getting me a Fitbit Aria scale and a Nike Fuelband in rosegold. Thanks, Mum, I got the hint. Happy Holidays.dividers-1

RDM

9 thoughts on “‘Tis The Season To Be Freezin’

  1. Hey Dylan,
    This is PostFromKristen and I am part of XOMB’s Pretty Committee. As the spot for Dylan in our group is currently open, I believe that we would love to have you audition as you are a marvelous blogger. I hope you consider!

    Warmly,
    -Kristen Gregory

  2. Hiya Dyl!
    Marvilous post & makeover! The ending was so Dylan. I really love your blog and how you own the character so well.
    KissKissKrisGregory

Leave a Reply

