Daddy Issues

I looked at my reflection in the full-length mirror, twisting my earring in. I pulled my hair into a high ponytail as I smoothed down my 10 Crosby Derek Lam dress with my other hand. I let out a deep sigh as I released my grip, dropping my hair onto my shoulders. I really don’t want to go, I thought. In exactly 25 minutes, I would unwillingly plop onto one of the country club’s plush seats, staring at my father across the table. The thought of it alone made me cringe. I made a final 360 turn, checking myself out from all angles. Is it decent enough, Mum?

I may have been stressed,even depressed, but at least I was well-dressed. I smirked as the quote “Always dress like you’re going to see your worst enemy” floated on the surface of my river of thoughts, reflecting on how true it was to my current situation. I was about to spend the night with the same man who had left me without warning, and came back just as unexpectedly, yet I was dressed like I was about to run into an old lover’s embracing arms. Which, in a sense, I was.

My lips curled into a smile. Blake. I was going to see him tonight. Seeing him earlier that day made every second thought I had disappear just as fast as my Dad did, and instantly replaced them with ones of certainty and infatuation. I licked my lips, pressing them together. We were official. DTRing didn’t matter anymore. What mattered was that I knew what it meant to me, and I couldn’t believe how long it took for me to realise that. Tonight, we’d be making our appearance at the most exclusive club in Westchester. Tonight, he’d meet my family. Tonight, I’d be surprised by how fast the otherwise daunting night would pass by in his company. And, if we’re lucky, tonight, we’d gaze at the stars together.

I was instantly awakened from my thoughts as our limo came to a screeching halt.

dividers-1

 I dodged left and right to avoid walking into one of the several waiters who scurried between champagne flute-clutching women, hastily refilling their glasses. He must be new. Knowing the manager, he’d fire him in a matter of seconds, had he heard of his unbalanced waltz. I started making my way to our table, stopping to greet The Pretty Committee with a smile, when a warm hand clasped mine.

“Hey,” whispered a husky voice into my ear. I’d recognise that voice anywhere, even amid the secretive chatters and loud laughs coming from Mum’s friends.

“Hey,” I replied, spinning on the heels of my Louboutins to face him. Blake lifted my hand to his lips, planting a gentle kiss on it.

“How you holding up?” he asked as we linked arms and walked away.

“Well, I don’t feel like killing anyone just yet.”

He chuckled. “Good.”

We sat down next to Jamie and her date, facing Ryan and her date. GoldNow I don’t even have to look at my Dad. If those velvety seats weren’t the classier equivalent of front row tickets, then I don’t know what is.

The rest of the night was pretty fickle. On one hand, getting to know Jamie and Ryan’s dates (the viral Vine twins who were on The Daily Grind that same morning) and teasing Blake was really enjoyable. On the other hand, my father’s toast was tormenting to say the least. I slouched back in my seat as he stood up and tapped my Chanel Rouge Moiré coated nails (which have been purposely painted to perfection) all throughout his speech. I couldn’t understand how my sisters could watch so comfortably and actually clap cheerfully at the end. They seemed genuinely interested in everything Dad had to do and say, and I just couldn’t understand how.

dividers-1

“Thanks. You know, for being here,” I thanked Blake as we walked outside. Being in the same room as my father and bimbo sisters for so long was suffocating.

“It’s all right. I like being here.”

I looked around the dark outdoor area. It completely transformed at night. Everything was a lot more romantic. The soft lights twinkled in the open, dusky space. The dark green grass glowed in the ebony field. The sound of the man-made waterfalls was especially audible in the silence.  The dimmed everything contrasted with the illuminating moonlight. I never thought I’d say this, but I actually liked the solitude. And it was at this moment that I could actually see how dapper Blake looked. I could’ve sworn he had a Batman gene in him: Exceptionally above-average by day, killer drop-dead-gorgeous-super-human by night.

I looked up at the pitch-black sky, finding the sacred silver stars.

I could feel his warm breath against my neck.”Dylan…” He pulled me closer to him, tightening his grip around my waist as his soft lips grazed my cheek. “I love you.”

“I love you, too.” I whispered. It was so unnatural how naturally I could say that. It was so easy. So effortless. So… honest.

“I–” his voice was hoarse. He cleared his throat. “I’m moving.” His voice cracked as his forehead fell into the palm of his hand.

I could feel my fight or flight response twitching.

dividers-1

Scribbles Section

So, what do you guys think of this post? I, personally, really love it. I’m sorry if that sounds narcissistic. I’m just so proud of it!

dividers-1

RDM

11 thoughts on “Daddy Issues

  1. Hola Dyl,
    I really liked this post! It’s really nice that Blake was there to keep you calm the whole time you had to be around your father. It seemed like you two were having a great time, he even said “I love you” which is soo sweet! It’s so upsetting that he’s moving…like ughhh, no. It’ll be interesting to see what happens next!
    xoxo, Leesh

    1. HI XOXOAHY,
      Thank yoooou. I really enjoyed his company. I know, right? I could’ve never predicted what was coming , especially not with the way he sugar coated everything prior to breaking the news. Thanks for commenting.
      -RDM

  2. Hola Chica! This is another Alicia/beauty blog and I just wanted to say that I stumbled across this blog and I absolutely love it! Also it’s great to see PC and RP blogs out there. All of the PC and RP blogs I was following quit or are MIA so seeing this just makes me so happy! I’d love it if you’d check out my blog. I kind of lost all my followers because I thought I wanted to quit but changed my mind last minute and now it don’t think people know I’m back.

    http://www.aliciariverholagurl.wordpress.com

    I’m so happy I found this and I can’t wait for your next post 🙂

    Xoxoxo

Leave a Reply

